Honoring the UK College of Pharmacy Class of 2014

May 14, 2014

The University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy honored 149 students at the 2014 Graduation Recognition Ceremony May 9 at the UK Singletary Center for the Arts.

Of those completing requirements for degrees, 17 students have earned a PhD in pharmaceutical sciences, two students received a Master’s degree in pharmaceutical sciences, and 130 students were awarded the Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) degree.

Following the presentation of diplomas, PharmD graduates recited the Pharmacist's Oath led by Duane Parsons, President of the Kentucky Pharmacists Association Board of Directors.

Several PharmD students received awards during the ceremony for their excellence in the classroom, leadership in student organizations, and commitment to community. Student award winners included:

Allison Ratcliff Award

• R. Zachary Thompson

American Pharmacy Services Corporation Independent Pharmacy Award

• Sara Elizabeth Holliday and Mark Huffmyer

APhA-ASP Professionalism Award

• Molly Trent

Oscar C. Dilly Award for Excellence in Pharmacy Administration

• Stephen R. Polley

Excellence in Clinical Communication Award

• Timothy David Marr

Jefferson County Academy of Pharmacy Award

• Bridgette A. Kanz

Kaplin-Passamaneck Award

• Jessica Nicole Cox

KPhA Excellence in Geriatric Practice Award

• Theresa E. Link

Merck Award

• Wade C. Barton, Kathryn Flores and Katy L. Garrett

Mylan Excellence In Pharmacy Award

• R. Zachary Thompson

Pharmacists Mutual Book Award

• Stella M. Roman

James Rhodes Award

• Zachary Noel

Alvin L. Schulte Award

• Danielle Antis Griggs

Teva Pharmaceuticals USA Award

• Natalie Walker

KPhA Outstanding Graduating Man Award

• Gavin T. Howington

KPhA Outstanding Graduating Woman Award

• Theresa E. Link

Several faculty members were recognized for their excellence inside and outside of the classroom during the ceremony as well.

Kelly M. Smith, Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs, received the Michael J. Lach Faculty Award for Innovative Teaching Practices. The award is named in memory of Michael J. Lach, former manager of information technology at the UK College of Pharmacy, who lost his battle with cancer in 1998.

Mandy Jones was honored with the William T. Miles Award established by Miles' son the late Curtis W. Miles, a 1918 graduate of the Louisville College of Pharmacy, who wished to encourage and recognize faculty members who share their expertise with community groups and volunteer agencies.

Faculty members Jim Pauly and Stacy Taylor were honored with Senior Class Awards for Teaching Excellence. Those awards are voted upon by the graduating PharmD class.

Cathy Hanna, Vice President of Professional Affairs for the American Pharmacy Services Corporation, was honored as the 2014 Preceptor of the Year.

page last modified: February 19 2014     

© University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy
Official Site of the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy