Baldwin to Receive 2010 Parker Award

Nov 17, 2010

Jeffrey N. Baldwin, PharmD, a 1973 graduate of the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy and R#11 in the UK Pharmacy Residency program, will be honored with the 2010 Paul F. Parker Award at a luncheon Dec. 7, held in conjunction with the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists in Anaheim, California.

Each year, the Paul F. Parker Award is given to a former resident of the UK Pharmacy Residency Program or an individual associated with the success of the program. It recognizes someone who has displayed a contribution to the profession, teaching or research. The recipient has a commitment to high ideals and excellence in their chosen field and encourages the personal and professional growth of others. The award honors the legacy of Paul F. Parker who came to UK in 1960 and was essential in the establishment of the UK Hospital, first serving as its Director of Pharmacy and Central Supply. Parker developed the nation's first hospital-wide unit dose system and drug information center. He was also instrumental in the development of clinical pharmacy practice and teaching programs in the UK College of Pharmacy.

Dr. Baldwin is a native of Sidney, New York, near the Catskill Mountains. Dr. Baldwin received his Associate of Science degree (1967) from Jamestown (NY) Community College and his Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy (1970) from the State University of New York at Buffalo before traveling to Kentucky. He earned his Doctor of Pharmacy (1973) from the University of Kentucky where he completed a concurrent ASHP Residency Program under the preceptorship of Paul F. Parker, M.S., D.Sc., Director of Pharmacy Central Supply. Dr. Baldwin joined the University of Nebraska College of Pharmacy in 1973 and developed clinical pharmacy services in concert with the Pediatrics Department at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. He has served the College of Pharmacy in numerous capacities, including extensive involvement in faculty development, promotion and tenure. Dr. Baldwin is currently Professor and Vice-Chair of Pharmacy Practice at the University of Nebraska College of Pharmacy and holds a courtesy appointment as Professor of Medicine with the University of Nebraska College of Medicine Department of Pediatrics.

He has published over 50 articles and abstracts, 27 book chapters, 50 audiovisual or computer-based educational materials, and made more than 130 professional presentations. Dr. Baldwin was the founding President of the Nebraska Council for Continuing Pharmacy Education and has served as President of the Nebraska Pharmacists Association. He has been a pioneer in substance abuse prevention, education, and pharmacy recovery network assistance programs. In addition to his contributions in the medical literature, his message relating the perils of substance abuse has received local media attention through television and radio. He is the co-founder of the Heartland Pharmacist Recovery Network and has served as co-chair of the Nebraska Pharmacist Recovery Network since 1988.

Dr. Baldwin is a recognized national leader in pharmacy education, having completed his term as President of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy in 2010 where his main agenda item was the pharmacist's role in primary care. He served as Chair of the American Society of Health-Systems Pharmacy Committee charged with establishing the initial standards for pediatric pharmacy residency training. Dr. Baldwin's contributions to research, education, and practice have been recognized by election as a fellow of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (FASHP) and the American PharmacistsAssociation (FAPhA). He has received the American Red Cross Certificate of Recognition, the State of Iowa's Governor's Recognition for Bravery, the Nebraska National Guard Individual Achievement Medal, and the Honor Medal with Crossed Palms from the Boy Scouts of America for his extraordinary heroism during a disastrous tornado at Little Sioux Scout Ranch in Iowa in 2008, among numerous other professional and community awards.

Dr. Baldwin is the first pediatrics practitioner to win the Paul F. Parker Award.

page last modified: February 19 2014     

© University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy
Official Site of the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy