College of Pharmacy Honors 2012 Graduates

May 07, 2012

The University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy honored 148 students at the 2012 Graduation Recognition Ceremony May 4 at the UK Singletary Center for the Arts.

Of those completing requirements for degrees, 14 students have earned a PhD in pharmaceutical sciences, seven students received a Master's degree in pharmaceutical sciences, and 127 students were awarded the Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) degree.

Associate Dean Kelly M. Smith welcomed graduates and their families and greetings from the College were provided by Dean Timothy S. Tracy.

Following the presentation of diplomas, PharmD graduates recited the Pharmacist's Oath led by Lewis Wilkerson, president of the Kentucky Pharmacists Association.

Receiving awards during the ceremony were faculty members Penni Black, assistant professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Todd Porter, associate professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences. Black received the Michael J. Lach Faculty Award for Innovative Teaching Practices. The award is named in memory of Michael J. Lach, former manager of information technology at the UK College of Pharmacy, who lost his battle with cancer in 1998.

Porter was honored with the William T. Miles Award established by Miles' son the late Curtis W. Miles, a 1918 graduate of the Louisville College of Pharmacy, who wished to encourage and recognize faculty members who share their expertise with community groups and volunteer agencies.

Faculty members Penni Black and Frank Romanelli were honored with Senior Class Awards for Teaching Excellence.

Paul Mangino, a clinical pharmacist at the University of Louisville Hospital who holds two degrees from the UK College of Pharmacy, was honored as the Preceptor of the Year.

See more photos in our flickr gallery.

page last modified: February 19 2014     

© University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy
Official Site of the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy